A behind-the-scenes look at
the people who make us great.

Vijay Garlapati

Job: QA Automation Engineer
Time at Lexicon: 1 year

What does your typical day at Lexicon look like?

My day usually starts with a quick cup of coffee (mostly at the client’s location), greeting team members and then focusing on regular work like stand ups, discussions, coding and other meetings for the rest of the day.

What kind of projects are you working on at the moment?

For the last 8 months, I’ve been working on the myToyota BAU for mobile & web app, and also API’s with loads of backend systems like Sitecore, SF, SAP, PCF…etc. Recently I was pulled into a huge migration project for Toyota.

What’s your favourite thing about working at Lexicon?

I love the way Lexicon treats all its Lexicans. Team lunches and Brown Bags are a great way to share knowledge and learn different things off another. Everyone is super friendly, so it’s a great environment.

So how did you get into what you do? Do you enjoy it?

I’ve been in this profession for a decade now and it’s always been my main interest, which is why I got into it in the first place. What I enjoy the most about working for a consultancy, is the range of projects you get to be apart of. I enjoy moving around and having different experiences with different teams.

If you could be doing one other thing professionally, what would it be?

Hmmm, I’d be involved in the stock market and shares for sure! I think what’s great about those types of jobs is the freedom to do as you please. Essentially investing your time and money in things you find are valuable or conceptually smart. There are also no fixed hours; you work when you want and how you want.

What’s your favourite thing to do on the weekend?

I love Netflix! So most weekends are spent searching for and watching new series. I love movies too, so I watch a whole lot of them. I recently bought a car too and so I’ve started exploring new places around Victoria!!

Where’s the best place you’ve ever been to?

The Grampians! I’m a huge nature lover and love doing trips there! I walk around, relax and listen to soothing music. On weekends I also enjoy going for walks at the beach.

If you had a private chef for a night, what would you get them to make for you?

I’d ask them to make me something completely different, something they’d never tried before. I’d want to be the first to try their new invention! I’d also make sure it was spicy in some way, I always eat meals with a bit of spiciness.

What’s something that most people might not know about you?

Most people know this, but I’m extremely quiet, I never talk much…

Are there any apps that you couldn’t live without?

Youtube, Apple and Amazon Prime music. I always listen to music and right before bed I love playing quiet ocean, forest or wind sounds. It really helps me to wind down and sleep well. There’s an app called ‘calm’ which provides nothing but soothing music and I always use it.

What’s the best advice anyone’s given you?

Never give up! Once you start something, make sure you see it through!

Is there any advice you’d give your younger self?

Simply, be honest, be good and always smile!