A behind-the-scenes look at
the people who make us great.

Mailys Perfrement

Job: Marketing & Administrative Coordinator
Time at Lexicon: 1 year

What does your typical day at Lexicon look like?

I start at 8.00 am every day and tend to check all of Lexicon’s social platforms first thing in the morning. At the moment I’m working on re-doing the website so I’ve been gathering as much information as I can, organizing different page content, etc. I’ve also been conducting these ‘get to know’ interviews with everyone in the company, so its been really fun! We have our company retreat coming up in May, so I’ve been organizing the venue and the activities that will take place while we’re there. I’m also always in direct contact with the Directors and anything they might need to organize throughout the day, meetings, reviews, travel arrangements and so on.

What’s your favourite thing about working at Lexicon?

For me, I’d have to say the variety of the work. No day is ever the same, because I do both the Marketing and Administrative side of things, there’s always plenty to do and plenty to organize for!

What were you doing before you joined Lexicon?

July last year, I graduated from my Bachelors of Marketing at RMIT, so for the last 3 years, I was at University and working mostly in retail and hospitality on the side. Im doing my Masters of Commerce part-time at the moment, outside of work hours. My previous job was simultaneously the MCG as an Outlet Supervisor and Coles as a Service Supervisor. Both jobs involved a lot of weekend work and overnight shifts, so working the typical 9 – 5 job is very different from what I’ve known. This is my first corporate job and I love it.

Were you always wanting to do Marketing?

When I first came out of high school, I went into Urban Planning at Melbourne University, did it for a semester and absolutely hated it. I think part of what I disliked was making tiny models and the creative side of things… I quickly realized it wasn’t for me and moved onto Business and haven’t looked back since. What I love about Marketing is that there’s so much to it, the advertising, PR, events management, market research/analytics parts, etc. it’s just so varied.

What’s your favourite thing to do on the weekend?

I love going for brunch or having drinks with friends! I also love watching Netflix. I have a 1-year-old kitten who loves to play and cuddle, so I spend a lot of time with him too.

Where’s the best place you’ve ever been to?

I would have to say Patagonia. I backpacked through South-America for 4 months last year with my partner and it was the most amazing trip. Patagonia’s scenery in the south of Argentina and Chile is next-level, it almost feels fake, it’s so beautiful. It’s untouched and just breathtaking, I couldn’t recommend it more!!

What’s something that most people might not know about you?

I’m half French, speak fluent French and was born in New Caledonia. I have a double nationality, which is super helpful because I do want to live and work in Europe at some point in my life, so I’d never need a Visa which is awesome!!

Are there any apps that you couldn’t live without?

Probably the weather app!! So crazy to say, but you can never trust the weather here, so knowing how to dress appropriately is super helpful. I’m always rushing like crazy in the morning before work so the app gives me a bit of guidance.

What's the best advice someone's ever given to you?

‘Growth is not found in comfort.’ Or ‘without risk, the reward isn’t as sweet’

I heard them once in movies and never stopped thinking about them. I think they convey the same message that stepping out of your comfort zone can only bring about good things.

What advice would you give to your younger self?

I’d have to say – think more about whether the things you own or the people you surround yourself with, bring any value to your life, and if they don’t, let them go sooner.

Don’t waste time on people or things that aren’t supportive of your growth.